Distance Track disappointments

So today was my first track workout for distance in about 3 months.

It did not go well.

There is a new distance coach, Coach M, and I wanted to make a good impression. She put us in groups, so I went with group 2 to see where I was at.

The workout out was 2×400, 2×800, and 2×400. Nothing too crazy. I’d done way harder workouts back in cross country season and rocked it, so I felt confident when I started out hard and fast.

I felt good the first 400, finishing at about a 1:15 time. She told me, why don’t I go ahead and go with the A group. The problem was, they were already at the start line, so I got zero break, when I was supposed to get a minute. They ran around a 1:20-ish pace, and I kept up, but I was feeling tired because I hadn’t gotten water or rest. We got a minute rest, in which I didn’t really recover. My muscles were aching.

Started for the 800 and by the first half lap, I knew I wouldn’t make it. I fell back and stopped after a 400 and told her I had gone too hard, too soon. I went back with the B group. 

The problem was, once I was there, they were painfully slow. I finished easily, barely out of  breath. We ran like 1:37.

But now she thinks I’m not fast! Ugh.

On the other hand, I’m making friends on the team. I didn’t make that great connections with the XC team because, I think, I was attached to my close friend MB. When you don’t know anyone, you’re kind of forced to make friends. We did core, and it was pretty fun because we joked around a lot. I was still disappointed in myself, though, because I remember XC season when I ran 1:17’s consistently for 16×400. Yeah, it was hard, but at least I didn’t stop. I knew I could make it. Now I don’t know if I could even run a 6:20 mile easily…It’s discouraging.

I think the problem is that my mind is used to these things being easier, but I’m so out of shape, my body can’t take it. That means I get frustrated because I don’t get why I can’t do the things I used to be able to…

I’ll improve. Hopefully. I’ll hit the track this weekend for some 400’s of my own.

School was fun today. In history, we are learning about China, and I was sort of the expert. People were interested in modern-day China, which were things I could answer. In 6th I gave a speech! I literally prepared it the night before…it went well, but there were some overachievers who brought in posters and whatnot so I feel like I got a solid B. I stuttered a little. I wasn’t that nervous, until a few minutes before. But when I got up there it wasn’t so bad.

Wasted time when I got home. Answered question on Yahoo answers for like 3 hours…it’s strangely satisfying, and a time suck.

This might seem insignificant, but I made the best pizza ever because the egg was perfectly cooked! I cooked it 5 minutes, then popped the yolk and let it run all over the pizza. Then I cooked it another 3 minutes and it turned into this great sauce…not quite cooked, but a thicker type of runny. amazing. That made my day.

I’m not sore now, but we’ll see tomorrow. Late start!

Leave a Reply

