Thousands of Miles Away

You know what I realized?

My friends…My true friends, the ones that I trust with my life and my thoughts and my secrets and my dreams….they live thousands and thousands of miles away. Hours of transportation. It’s likely that I will not see them in person for a long time, if ever.

About a week ago, I was chilling in my room. Reading some book around midnight.

My iPod pings. It’s a message. From Friend TK. 

“What time is it there?”

I answer. Midnight. What am I doing? Getting ready for bed. What is he do-?….. wait.

It’s 3 am where he lives.

“What the heck are you doing up at 3 am?”

“Doing drugs.”

Typical. Sassy TK. He never fails to crack me up.

“No, actually.”

“Talking to my favorite girl.”

Well, hello. Cue warm fuzzy feelings.

Friend MR chats me. I respond within a second because I miss him like crazy. He takes a full 20 minutes to reply.

But he asks me how I’m doing and he tells me how his college apps are killing him and we make fun of each other and catch up. 

Friend ML chats me around the same time. It’s freaking 3 am for him, too. I honestly don’t know what’s up with them.

Come visit in November, he says.

Why?

There’s a dance. Wink, smiley face. He would go if I came. Jkjk, of course. But, actually, though, he says. Smiley face.

And I’m like….Fuzzy, fluffy, feelings and teddy bears and rainbows and butterflies and sunshine

Oh…I miss him. I miss them all.

Leave a Reply

