Pianistic Opportunities

So yesterday I played background music. As guests walked in the door. At a freakin’ multi-million-worth house on the top of a cliff that overlooked the sea and basically the entire area for miles in every direction. The 60 or so seats were sprinkled around beautifully set tables with roses gracing the cloth…

The mayor of the city (and quite a few other city officials) gave speeches and handed out awards…

It was pretty amazing.

Not to mention the piano was an absolutely gorgeous 9-foot Bosendorfer. That definitely calmed me down. Such a rich, full sound…you have no idea. I don’t even care that I played Arabesque No.1 on repeat. For an hour. You don’t get tired of playing on a piano like that…

The food was delicious. A certain waiter was very friendly, and struck up a conversation about contemporary composers (and ended up giving me a scrap of paper with some suggestions on it). 

A little damper on the evening when a ‘virtuoso pianist’ absolutely butchered Rhapsody in Blue. Then, continued to just hammer out La Campanella in the most painful fashion…

But no matter. It was a great night.

Published by unknownandanonymous

A journal written for me, by me. Bonus points for me if other people like reading it.

Leave a comment