The Flaws of Dorian Gray

While reading The Portrait of Dorian Gray and simultaneously the El Chapo Rolling Stones interview, and also working through my relationship with my mother with my good friend, some of my philosophies about people have become more clear to me.

The plot and the increased mutilation of the portrait is based on the premise that souls can grow more cruel – more “bestial, sodden, and unclean”. I reject this.

People do corrupt things for noble reasons. No soul grows “more cruel”. Souls can become jaded and listless, but that is not the same. Souls are inherently good, regardless of actions.

The characters in Dorian Gray I find completely unrealistic in this respect – but, perhaps, that is the point.

Leave a Reply

