Notes From The Plane Ride Here

1/24/16, 3:08am, notes from iPhone

It’s raining in my hometown, the one city where it never rains. I know this from inside the plane, as water streams frantically, pressed against the side of the plane, and I catch just the 10 – inch section of the river through my window.

Sharp lines against texture. I realized I liked this in the art museum, and I realize it now: fuzzy, yet strangely firm looking clouds, but the definition of city lights just below. I am above.

Spots of blackness so dark among the city lights that I must remind myself they are just angled areas shadowed by clouds and not pits into the earth.

Spotting a huge patch of snow as we land – heart quickening with anticipation on 3 hrs of suboptimal sleep. Flying into a luminescent full moon.

The runways have been scraped, but I still imagine the plane slipping and upending – like it had stepped on a banana in the cartoons – “whoooo-omp!”

Leave a Reply

