so I went to a party

somewhat reluctantly, but I wanted to get drunk and feel social. So I went.

Humidity seeping into our pores; sweat dripping off our chins as flirted and twirled. Drinking games and balls in cups and the first waves of that lovely tipsy glow. Careless dancing, careless hugs and careless conversations about things more than nothing with people with whom no relationship would develop, but that was ok. The thrill of being desired and liked and fun to be around for once; a perfect dash of harmless sexual energy: just not mentioning that I had a boyfriend until much later, dropped casually in conversation after an hour of laughing and light touches on my arm.

I enjoyed it. I think I needed it.

 

Leave a Reply

