a list of the people I want to collect

collect being an odd word, but future me will know what I mean in reference to a particular conversation with ES I had about approaches to friendship, and how relationships were really just picking people that we particularly like and going after them.

people I have thus far successfully collected and the remarkable quality I probably was drawn towards

ES – a whole host of bizarre mannerisms, combined with her apparent ADHD-style genius

AM – a deliberate drive for intellectual curiosity

YM – a similar sense of self-deprecating humor and an empathy like no other

MH – a keen, nuanced thoughtfulness and certain instantly respected air

MS – a sharp wittiness and a promising streak of artistic genius

 

people I’ve wanted to collect

HJ – an ease, a warmth, and an intellectual streak

MSh – a fascinating, hyper-intellectual gregariousness, although petty and immature at times

IC – a talent for poetry and performance and theatre and a somewhat repelling force against the petty girls on my freshman year dorm floor

MC – an unexplained solitary ease, an admirable tendency towards fascinatingly individualistic activities

JH – similar to MC, but music oriented

EP – similar to MC and JH, but open and gregarious and quirky

ZL – JKm’s friend, unfortunately, but just so kind and dorky

MD – JKm’s friend, again, but very MC-like

JB – AM’s friend, another individualistic ease and outward drive for adventure and impact

ZH – random guy I met that was AM’s friend; sharply witty in that jewish way

AV – mysterious on social media and adorably awkward in person; musically talented

JS – do I need to describe him? well-traveled, well-read, and insanely developed as a human being

AjM – individual, and yet seems like the kindest person alive

EL – went on spring break trip with him; can be summed up through this exchange with AM: me – “I like him a lot, but I feel like I don’t know him”; AM – “he probably feels the same exact way”

FF – a drugged-up ease, an intellectualism, a vague sense of floating through life, and a crazy music talent

VC – a mellow, unassuming, and yet so apparent kindness

there are so many more — what am I doing I am running out of time

Leave a Reply

